29
Jan
09

This is why

If you’ve ever wondered why I tend to be hostile towards religion, here is why.

Let me dissect this a bit:

Your Questions and Answers
from The Christian Science Journal

Given the advancements in the medical field, why would a Christian Scientist opt not to have medical treatment, when much of the time it seems that the medical route would be much simpler? Furthermore, if you’re struggling for a long time with a physical problem and you’re not getting a healing through Christian Science, why would you stick with it? Isn’t this an indication that your method isn’t working, and that maybe you should, just this once, go to a doctor instead?

Good question, why would you?

Christian Scientists are always free to choose medical treatment, which many individuals feel is the most obvious solution to health difficulties. But the reason Christian Scientists tend to choose prayer instead—and to stick with prayer even if healing is not coming quickly—has nothing to do with dogma, tradition, or the advances of medical science, but everything to do with their understanding of and relationship to God.

Wait, what? Consider this, if you as a doctor for a known cure to a disease you’ve been diagnosed with which does nothing, will you continue to go to the same doctor, or will you get a second opinion? For this same reason, why not pray to another god and see if that works better? How does this have nothing to do with tradition or dogma? You’re only worshipping whatever deity it is you worship because of your culture, passed down via tradition and dogma. Perhaps you don’t realize that, so I’ll forgive the error. Let’s continue.

This relationship with God is primary, because it has everything to do with one’s happiness and has a direct impact on career, family, and quality of living.

I’m pretty damn happy most of the time, I’d say my family is fairly happy for the most part, and my quality of living is just peachy. Do I have a relationship with the Flying Spaghetti Monster? (aside from that one time, but hey, I was drunk and he’s never called me back) Seriously, how about the happiness which comes from having a coherent picture of the world based upon what has been tested, rigorously catalogued, subject to scrutiny, and convinced many well educated skeptics? How about the meat of this statement, though, how does a “relationship” with an entity NEVER proven to exist have an impact on ANYTHING?

Personally, I’ve found these to be good reasons to rely on prayer in my own life, even when a medical solution may have seemed like a simple way to correct a condition.

How about going to Congo for the height of malaria season without any form of medicine? After all,YOU can RELY upon prayer. You’d think, with all of those people praying while dying from cancer, genetic disease, infection, starvation, and so forth, maybe a few less would die. I mean, are these people not being sincere in their desire to live while praying?

For some time I had a painful foot condition that many people would probably say could have been corrected medically in a simple way.

What was it? Notice how we don’t know if it was a sprain, break, infection, deformation, neurological condition, just a simple “foot condition.” Hey, I have a foot condition, too, the condition my left foot is in is slightly less sore from standing all day than my right foot is, but I DO have a foot condition, two of them to be precise. How painful was it? Was it as bad as me forcing myself to read this vile garbage which you claim is “science?”

I knew that the type of treatment was entirely my choice to make, but I decided to keep praying. Why? Because I knew I needed more than just a physical change. My prayers were not asking God to heal my feet, but praying to better understand Him, to do His will and “walk” in His direction.

What? You ask for a date and he heals your foot? Sounds rather unusual to me, but hey, I’m no deity.

An awakening desire in my prayers was not just to love God, but to love His people—to have a greater love for humanity.

Do everyone a favor, don’t play the “I just want to love everyone” card, especially when you are against the rights of homosexuals to marry, access to family planning,  and the like.

A complete physical healing did result, and it also had a huge impact on my career and lifestyle. Instead of focusing on just building up my engineering career, my work focused more on those around me. My wife took on a house-parenting position, and suddenly I was surrounded by lots of small children.

This is good?

The more I prayed, the message became so clear to devote my life to helping others.And, for me, that meant helping them with prayer. So these became my first steps into the ministry of being a Christian Science practitioner. And this change would have never happened if I had just sought a physical cure for my problem.

I can’t go on with reading this, none of the logic follows, it’s like reading something on Ray Comfort’s blog.

4 Responses to “This is why”


  1. 1 Colloquy
    January 29, 2009 at 8:42 am

    “Instead of focusing on just building up my engineering career..”

    Why did I know that he was an engineer? 🙄

  2. January 29, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    “..to devote my life to helping others.And, for me, that meant helping…”

    I was SURE that this sentence was going to end with, “myself!”

  3. January 29, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Agggh. “Ray Comfort’s blog”! The mere mention of it makes my eyes bleed! I don’t even know why atheists even bother to frequent that blog. Ray Comfort is immune to logic, unwilling to adapt his arguments, and is adamant in his view that quote-mining is acceptable practice. But, at least no one can say that he hasn’t been rebutted…

  4. 4 jaredcormier
    January 29, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    All three of you are spot on.


Leave a Reply

Join the best atheist themed blogroll!

RSS Adventures in Ethics and Science

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Blag Hag

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS denialism blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS ERV

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Greg Laden’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Laelaps

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Lawful Good Wonk

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Living the Scientific Life (Scientist, Interrupted)

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Pharyngula

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Tetrapod Zoology

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS White Coat underground

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Older stuff

wordpress stats

