22
Nov
09

Atheism: rifts, divides, and now, vaginas?

Seriously? It always pisses me off when the “old academic man” idea of atheism is brought out. Atheists aren’t some homogeneous group with dogmatically held opinions from some supreme leader; as such , we will have a wide variety of perspectives. This is compounded even more by the lack of a central hierarchy. Some atheists are quite old, some are young. Some nontheists possess a penis, some will have a vagina. Some are scientists, students, or grad students, others are philosophers, others are writers. We vary not only in physical attributes, but also in sexual orientation (as do all humans, honestly) and mental stability. The idea that we have no central authority regarding our opinions and what we SHOULD think is so foreign to many religious individuals. In case you didn’t notice my links, many of them are, in fact, female.* Some of them are male.* This doesn’t matter when discussing ideas and opinions. Of course we will vary greatly in our ideas and perspectives. We don’t try to make everyone fit into the cookie cutter of dogmatic ideology This is a strength of the nontheists, not a weakness. It allows us to bring our various perspectives on serious issues and solve actual problems. Try thinking for yourself some time.

*note: I’m not sure if they are male and female, I’m just going by self-reporting. I don’t have genetic or photographic evidence of these claims.

4 Responses to “Atheism: rifts, divides, and now, vaginas?”


  1. November 23, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    I don’t know, the whole penis/vagina thing throws me. I happen to have a penis, and so far the thing I have found it most qualifies me for is taking out the garbage. The penis is never directly applied in transporting the garbage, at least the way I take out the garbage. It just seems to be a definer of task assignments.

    Having worked in a government job for the past twenty years I did note that possessing a vagina seemed to improve the probability of promotion to a degree, but that might simply be penis related sour grapes. I really don’t see how possessing any particular orifice or insertion unit might affect the capacity to embrace and articulate ideas. The nature of one’s tool set might have some influence on perspective, but the difference seems rather minuscule. Probably only a difference of around six inches, on the average.

    With the passage of time I find that my winkle has an ever diminishing voice in the state of my mind and consequent opinions. It is a change I do not entirely regret. It seems to allow me to listen more. With the similarly diminished capacity for hearing, however, I don’t know that much has been gained.

    Continue the struggle to share ideas. It will give me something to watch in my declining years.

    Mike

  2. 2 Colloquy
    November 23, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    I have a vagina and I take out the garbage Michael.

  3. 3 jaredcormier
    November 24, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Sorry, Michael, that difference would be much less unless measuring at aroused states, and what the hell would someone be doing discussing philosophy, science, or politics while aroused?

  4. November 24, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Having served as a correctional officer for twenty years, I have developed several areas of expertise, unsought. One is visual awareness of male appendages. Having conducted a phenomenal number of strip searches I have seen the long and short of the matter. I may have been a bit generous, falling in with a popular and optimistic measure made by ego rather than ruler. Based on the population I have had opportunity to observe, however, six inches is not overly generous.

    If I recall, baseball rather than philosophy is the subject of contemplation when aroused. Though baseball is often called a “thinking man’s game.” Philosophy is a game of thinking, so there might be some sufficient corelation. Next time conditions are right I shall try and make some observations.

    As to the penis/garbage relationship, that may simply be an aspect of my own particular sub-culture. There have to be at least some penis-free human habitations, and garbage does not seem to accumulate disproportionately in those environments. This may be a matter requiring some study.

    Time for a grant application.


Leave a Reply

Join the best atheist themed blogroll!

RSS Adventures in Ethics and Science

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Blag Hag

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS denialism blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS ERV

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Greg Laden’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Laelaps

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Lawful Good Wonk

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Living the Scientific Life (Scientist, Interrupted)

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Pharyngula

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Tetrapod Zoology

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS White Coat underground

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Older stuff

wordpress stats

