22
Feb
10

Hidden gems

I occasionally stumble across these gems of research which have remained hidden away in obscurity (from me, at least) for a few years. Sometimes, they are thrown at me and I only realize how interesting they are after I read another, related paper and then I feel like I playing catch and suddenly, while watching a bird fly overhead, I forget to catch the ball and am left wondering why my head suddenly hurts. I pretty much try to read everything I can on reptiles and amphibians (if you stumble across a paper relating to one of these, send it this way; if I don’t have it, I can add it to my ever-growing collection) as well as things relating to genetic expression (please don’t send me these, I have enough to keep up with in the genetics area to keep me busy for three lifetimes). I have tons of papers I want to write about, and tons I want to discuss, but I so frequently get distracted that I forget to share them. So, here is a short list of papers I will, hopefully, at some point, get to discussing. Most of them are free, so feel free to peruse them at your own leisure.

Locating Pleistocene Refugia: Comparing Phylogeographic and Ecological Niche Model Predictions

Evolution of Gigantism in Amphiumid Salamanders

Underestimation of Species Richness in Neotropical Frogs Revealed by mtDNA Analyses

On the Trail of Early Birds: A Review of the Fossil Footprint Record of Avian Morphological and Behavioral Evolution

Maternal Investment Influences Expression of Resource Polymorphism in Amphibians: Implications for the Evolution of Novel Resource-Use Phenotypes

The Spandrels of San Marco and the Panglossian Paradigm: a critique of the adaptationist programme

Insulators: exploiting transcriptional and epigenetic mechanisms

Reclassification of Vibrio fischeri, Vibrio logei, Vibrio salmonicida and Vibrio wodanis as Aliivibrio fischeri gen. nov., comb. nov., Aliivibrio logei comb. nov., Aliivibrio salmonicida comb. nov. and Aliivibrio wodanis comb. nov

Nine exceptional radiations plus high turnover explain species diversity in jawed vertebrates

Breaking the Histone Code of Silence: The Propagation and Blocking of Heterochromatin
(sadly, not free, don’t blame me, blame Dr. Donze)

0 Responses to “Hidden gems”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join the best atheist themed blogroll!

RSS Adventures in Ethics and Science

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Blag Hag

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS denialism blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS ERV

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Greg Laden’s Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Laelaps

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Lawful Good Wonk

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Living the Scientific Life (Scientist, Interrupted)

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Pharyngula

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Tetrapod Zoology

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS White Coat underground

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Older stuff

wordpress stats

